“The Boys of Summer” by Roger Kahn

“You may glory in a team triumphant… But you fall in love with a team in defeat.”

One of my all-time favorite books, about the struggles of the Brooklyn Dodgers and their quest for a World Championship, offers one of the greatest quotes of all time for any sports fan.   I remember when I read the page it was on and that seminal moment I knew that it rang true and pure with a resonance that was equally rare.

I often refer back to it when one of my teams takes a beating and leaves me a bit down.  The full quote goes on a bit deeper and more eloquent, but this is the heart of the matter.  Maybe in a different lifetime I was a Cubs fan, but I know what it is to follow a “lovable-loser.”  I’ve been blessed to see some of my teams win it all, but like another saying goes, it is the journey, not the destination.

Leave a Reply

